Doctors Office…

Today, I had a check up at my baby doctors office.  I was sitting in the waiting room and all of a sudden this girl walks out with her mother.  She still looks really small, stomach wise, and she’s definitely a year or two younger than me, making her 16 or 17.  I thought okay, whatever, maybe it’s her mom that is pregnant.  Then I saw the gauze with a bandaid on her arm, showing that she got blood work, which you usually do at your first visit.  And I also looked at her face, she definitely did not look happy at all.  Her mom didn’t even seem to acknowledge her.  And to make it worse, people were looking at her.  I wanted to tell them to mind their own business, because I know how that feels.  Of course, I was looking at her, but not to judge; It just made me remember my first visit.  I was so scared, and I didn’t know what to expect at all.  And if it was her first any type of gynocolegist visit, she probably didn’t know WHAT to expect either, which can definitely not be fun, just to put things lightly.  And I even STILL get ridicule from people, probably wondering what a girl so young is doing here.  Well, its quite OBVIOUS why, lady. So I can only imagine how she might have felt; But that is besides the point. Maybe she was a totally different person than I am.  Maybe she wasn’t sad, and I was reading the signs all wrong.  Maybe her mom wasn’t even upset.  I just know how intimidating my first doctors visit was. Seeing the baby and hearing the heartbeat made it all so real.  Not to mention, the disturbing type of ultrasound I got the first time. I won’t go into detail.  But overall, I reall don’t see how someone that young could not be upset or scared or sad about this.  I basically just felt for the girl, and it is so sad how the percent of teenage pregnancy is just increasing.  Especially in single teens. I didn’t see a father with her either, and I definitely can relate. It is ridiculous. And very sad.  But it also made me feel, not so alone.

~ by ashleysalazar on July 7, 2009.

One Response to “Doctors Office…”

  1. thats so horrible i feel bad for that girl. i hate those fathers who abandon the mother i would never EVER do that

Leave a Reply

 
