Last “First Day of School”

Today was the first day of my senior year.  I wasn’t planning on going at all, thinking maybe I could graduate before I had to see anyone after everything from last year happened.  I decided to go back though, and it wasn’t that bad.  My friend Shelley spent the night and we got ready together.  I did end up having to go in alone, though, because she had to do something before.  When I got there the bell had already rung and it was pretty much chaos.  But I’m glad no one really noticed me since we were all pretty lost in the new high school.  When I got there they directed me to the wrong class, which was okay, I guess, because i DID get to see some friends I barely saw all summer.  They didn’t act different at all, and just “awwed” at my belly, I guess.  Some girl I rarely talk to came up to me and told me I was getting so much bigger! Ha! It was not very funny at the time, but I just went along with it.

I was standing by the door of my “new class” which was really the wrong one, and it turns out this kid I had never seen had credit recovery all day also.  And he was pretty nice so it’s not that bad.  Finally, we were directed to our new class and it was a pretty big room compared to last year’s classroom.  It just had a lot of desks and computers.  Way more than needed.  When I got in there the teachers were really nice and told us just what to expect.  I picked my two electives, Humanity/Psychology or something like that, and some business communications class.  Then of course, I had to take my second semester of senior english.  The day pretty much flew by, I didn’t have to go to my locker or switch classes, and I finished the first lesson of my English class.

When it was finallly time to leave at noon, I just walked out to the cafeteria across the hall and actually saw a lot of people I hadn’t seen in a while.  They all had something to say about my new “look,” lol and I guess it didn’t really bother me because I had the summer to adjust.  Some people I rarely talk to gave me hugs, and one friend even felt my belly and said that she “was so sad I wasn’t keeping her.”  Maybe a while back it would have made me really sad, and it still kind of does, but just the fact that I didn’t let it bother me AS MUCH let me know that I was making a lot of progress and felt confident in my decision.

So, overall, the first day was pretty good.  Fast paced. And of course, I was little sad I didn’t get to be in regular class with all of the new kids and old friends, especially as a result of getting pregnant and feeling the need to get out of school ASAP, but I think it was a good decision.  So, a good thing is that I get to graduate early ahead of my class , and I can’t wait to finish the rest of the year.

~ by ashleysalazar on August 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “Last “First Day of School””

  1. Hi Ashley- Just wanted to say, I understand about that first day back to school being pregnant. I was a junior when I was pregnant with my oldest. Just 16 yrs old. In a small town. With LOTS of judgmental people. I started that year at about 6 months along in my pregnancy. Keep your chin up, and don’t let anyone make you feel like a bad person. From the little I’ve talked to you and read in your blog, you are a smart,talented young woman who has a great future ahead of her. This does not define you. (Check out my latest blog post for what happens when you do! http://www.becomingkelly.com/ )You will certainly find out who your real friends are during this time in your life, but I think that’s a good thing. Good luck with school, and keep smiling.

Leave a Reply

 
